Me? 38?

That’s right. I’m 38 today. Pretty hard to believe. I feel so old. I hate saying that…because with my November birthday, most of my friends are older than me. But I don’t mean they are old, or 38 is old…I just mean I don’t feel like I’ve been in this life for that long. I don’t feel like high school ended 20 years ago, or university ended 15 years ago. Of course, they may not have…I’m that bad at math. Also, it is close to 40. I grew up thinking of 40 as where people stop being “young” and started being “middle aged” boring almost old people. Of course, I know that is not true. All I have to do is look around me. I have friends and relatives in their 40s, and even 50s, who are as young as I am. I myself feel (and probably look) younger than I did 5 years ago. Still, there is no denying it…I am much closer to 40 than 30 now!

I spent the weekend texting Adam slightly naughty pictures in hopes of scoring some nice gifts. I scored! Spa gift certificates, and 50$ to spend at iTunes (I buy so much music to keep my runs fun. That’s right, my favorite gift is the same as that of my 15 year old clients.  Still young!).

As for the celebrations:

We has dinner with my family (I’m a twin, you knew that, right?) Friday night. Chinese food. My parents got me a Spynga gift card. Good thing too…running season is coming to an end for me. Not that I won’t run at all in the winter…but not often. Running after dark in the cold on roads that could be icy just does not feel safe. Also, I don’t mind a chilly run, but downright cold? No way!

Anyways, back to my birthday. Today my girls (including Zoë’s BFF) woke me with hugs and breakfast and home made cards. Then it was off to spin/yoga, run some errands (that included falling in love with these boots that I cannot afford. Perhaps nobody can).
20111113-205131.jpg

We hung out at home a bit, then went to Centre Bar and Grill for dinner. They are having a promotion to support Zoë’s school, kids eat free, and it was BOGO pasta night…plus the food is good. One of the cheapest celebration meals ever…and yummy. I burned off the salmon penne and red velvet cake (shared generously with the girls…I got a bite or two) with a nice 3 mile evening run…because it was so nice out.

I wore a new sweater dress from Winners, high heeled boots, and black leggings:
20111113-205643.jpg

My peeps:

20111113-205710.jpg

One thought on “Me? 38?

Leave a Reply

