first race of 2012!

I ran the Toronto Yonge Street 10k today. A great race! Nice and cool out, and a fun and fast route. I finished in 1 hour and 23.5 seconds. I am super pleased and proud. I was aiming for (probably just) under 1 hour…but really 23 seconds over is nothing to beat myself up over. It was a significant personal record for me (fastest previous 10k was 1:04:42…so more than 4 minutes faster) and I was able to get in at consistently under 10 minute miles (remember a 10k is 6.2 miles…I hit 6 miles at around 58 minutes!). I have never been able to keep up 10 minute miles for more than 3 miles before! Adam ran with me…well…behind me…and finished in 1:12. A record for him too! No race pics yet (and who knows if they’ll be post-worthy) but here is a picture we snapped before the race!

Leave a Reply

