Avgolemono

I was feely achy and sore throaty all day today (I had a spring roll Thursday…stupid…by Saturday my throat was getting scratchy. I am hoping Oil of Oregano drops and Apple Cider Vinegar rinses will keep me from getting full blown tonsillitis…if I catch it early, sometimes I can), and decided I needed soup for dinner. I did not, however, feel like Lentil (since I made a big pot last weekend and ate it all week) and did not want to ho shopping for any ingredients…so I checked Cooking Light for some ideas. I ended up with Avgolomono. It is a Greek soup that I have noticed and wondered about in Greek restaurants, but never tried. It appealed to me because I had all the ingredients (though I did use fake chicken stock, so Zoë the vegetarian would eat it too. Wasted effort, she didn’t like it.) Lotte liked it, as did Adam and I. It was very soothing for my throat.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups low-salt chicken (I used fake vegan) broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup hot cooked long-grain rice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon white pepper
  • 6 lemon slices

Preparation

Heat broth and water in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Gradually add hot broth mixture and lemon juice to eggs, stirring constantly with a whisk. Return egg mixture to pan. Cook over medium heat until slightly thick (about 15 minutes), stirring constantly. Remove from heat; stir in rice, salt, and pepper. Ladle soup into each of 6 bowls; serve with lemon slices.
20130929-213727.jpg

Also for dinner, gluten free pasta bake! Pasta Joy Elbow Macaroni (I love the Pasta Joy rice pasta, so tasty!), light ricotta cheese mixed with one egg, homemade (by Adam’s client) tomato sauce, and light mozzarella cheese baked then broiled to make a one dish entree we all loved!

20130929-213931.jpg

Leave a Reply

