It may be corny but…

I f*cking love corn bread. I forgot how much I loved it until a colleague brought some in the other day. I didn’t eat it, since it usually has wheat flour mixed in, but I did stand over it and drool most of the day. I took a break from my drooling to google a gluten free recipe.
I found one here. Thank you blogging lady!

Here is the recipe:
Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup cornmeal, preferably organic or non-GMO (I used bulk barn)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 tablespoon honey
2 cups milk (I used 1%)
2 tablespoons melted butter (I use gaylea light spreadable)

Directions
*Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
*Grease a 10″ cast iron skillet or an 8×8″ pan (I used a muffin pan and made 12 muffins).
*In a small bowl combine cornmeal, baking powder, and salt and whisk well with a fork.
*In a medium sized bowl beat eggs and mix in honey, milk, and melted butter.
*Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mix until just combined.
*Pour batter into prepared pan and place in oven.
*Bake 20-25 minutes or until a knife or toothpick comes out clean when inserted into center of the bread.

*Allow to cool before cutting (I didn’t). *Serve with lots of butter (I didn’t, but it would be yummy).

So yummy. Perfect with scrambled eggs and cheese:
20131013-132136.jpg

20131013-132143.jpg

20131013-132152.jpg</

Muffins (1/12 of recipe) have calculated at 110 calories and 3G of fat each.

Leave a Reply

