Update

I know. I’ve been quiet. Sorry, life has been busy and I’ve been overwhelmed and…and…just and…

Some brief updates:

-I’ve been sick. I think it’s just a cold, but how sick I am seems to change day by day. Sometimes hour by hour. Sometimes I feel mostly like myself except a runny nose, other times I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck, other times somewhere in the middle. Yesterday I woke up with a fever, but by dinner time felt completely normal. This morning I woke up feeling great, but have been losing steam and energy as the day has gone on. It has been two weeks already since this illness started, I really hope to get rid of it for good over the weekend, because next week I am one of only a few people left in the office, and they really need me to be there.

-I haven’t been to the gym in 2 weeks! I hate that, such a waste of money. I’ve been exercising at home…20-30 minutes of low to medium intensity spinning…when I’m up to it because it is important to me to keep fitting exercise into my life. I know how easy it is to get out of the habit. But I certainly would not feel good about bringing these germs into an enclosed studio class, nor do I feel up to a fully intense class.

-I applied for a new position at work about a month ago. It’s a position I’ve wanted for a long time, but I was also struggling with the idea of making this move. Anyway, I found out last week that not only did I not get the position, I did not even get accepted to the second part of the competition. That has never happened to me, I am bright and smart and know my work well. I am pretty humiliated and embarrassed and ashamed of myself that I could not even do well enough to move on to part two of the competition…but also a bit relieved that I do not have to struggle with the decision about whether or not this is the right time for me to make this move. I guess the opportunity will arise again

-as always there are other stresses at work to deal with. My job is not a great job over the holidays. Holidays are often difficult for my clients.

-my dad has been sick, and it has been hard. This is been going on for about a month and a half now, although I have not talked about it here before for privacy reasons. Anyway, I do not want to get too far into it except to say that he was very sick, will require treatment (which has started), but has a good prognosis. However, it has been stressful and worrisome, and having someone in the family sick certainly brings out a lot of family tensions between everyone.

-again, I have not talked about this much here because of privacy reasons, but my husband and I have not been getting along very well. I did something that he does not like (nothing to him…no affair here!!!), and he does not seem able to get over it. I have to say, even though I think it is silly that he is so upset over this thing I did… I do regret it. It is something that is too small for him to be making such a big deal about it, but also too small for me to have added this kind of stress to my marriage over, even though I really wanted to do and love what I did. Feel free to scan my recent-ish posts if you want to figure it out!

-of course, being stressed by family stuff and work stuff and not feeling well and not being able to work out the way I normally do (which really helps with stress) has…well…sucked and left me prickly and irritable and bitchy, which helps nothing!

On the bright side, I’ve caught up on Grey’s, read a few good books (check out the list) and…well…that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

