The dye job

In December 2008, I bought a red (pinkish red) purse (bad pre-iPhone picture):
20140422-193859.jpg

I used it so much it faded to a splotchy light pinkish light orangish mess (inside strap is original colour):
20140422-193942.jpg

After determining that it would cost $75 and a trip downtown to have it re-dyed professionally, I decided to do it myself. Here are two coats:
20140422-194041.jpg

And finished at 4 coats. (I did not dye the inside of the strap, so that I would be able to compare the original color to the fresh):
20140422-194124.jpg

P.s. I did not do this blindly! I did a lot of research on to technique, and die. The dye I ended up using was tarrago self- shine, in shade 101, magenta.

Leave a Reply

