Cauliflower? Me!

Since I began eating healthier, and certainly since I went gluten-free, I have discovered that I enjoy lots of foods I never thought I would before! The newest addition to this list is cauliflower. I have always hated cauliflower! A few months ago, I used in both soup and pizza. I like both of them, but both of them used it in a way that it barely tasted like cauliflower. I was still convinced that I didn’t like It on it’s own…or almost on its own. I still left it on my plate in stir-fries, and ignored it at salad bars.

Last week, I discovered a lone cauliflower in the back of my fridge. I had bought it a couple weeks before, planning to make pizza. I didn’t really feel like making pizza, but I did feel like I had to use the cauliflower. After looking for some recipes, I decided to make roasted cauliflower. I loved it! I loved it so much that I have been craving it ever since, and made it again last night.

I looked at a lot of recipes, but didn’t really follow one. I just washed and chopped the cauliflower, tossed it with a little bit of olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and minced garlic, and roast on about 400° until it looks brown and crispy…at least 45 minutes. Last night I added some Parmesan cheese to the mix, but it really didn’t improve the taste as much as I anticipated. That time, I will leave it out. That way, it’s vegan! I’m not, but I do enjoy having vegan meals as often as possible. I don’t know if I will ever be vegan (right now I eat fish, dairy and eggs)…but ethically it’s what I like to be…so the more vegan dishes I can learn to prepare and enjoy! Right now, I just don’t feel like I can consistently limit my diet anymore than I already have (gluten free, no meat, fat and calorie conscious), and still feel like I am healthy, and satisfied by my meals. Every vegan meal helps though!

Back to my cauliflower…In addition to learning to enjoy roasted cauliflower, I ate a raw piece of it before cooking last night, and liked it. I have also be making an effort to eat it more in stirfries…and enjoying it. It’s not my favorite stirfry vegetable, (hello zucchini) but not bad at all.

Maybe broccoli is next? Currently, I don’t mind it if it is chopped up and cooked in something yummy, but still do not like it on it’s own or raw.

20140508-165554.jpg

Leave a Reply

