Updates

I know, I haven’t shared much lately. Nothing to hide… Just a bit busy and overwhelmed.

1. The stuff I was complaining about at work continues. Because of confidentiality, I can’t really talk about it… Just say that I am dealing with several situations at work that are a lot of work and stress for me. Don’t worry, I’m not in trouble or anything like that…there’s just several clients I have that are going through stuff that is really hard (serious illnesses, mental health stuff, placement breakdowns) all at the same time. It is hard on them, and also for me….emotionally and workload wise.

2. I’ve also been having a lot of trouble sleeping recently. I was falling asleep easily around 11, but around 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning I’d wake. After that, it was hard to fall back asleep and whenever I did it was only for 5 or 10 minutes at a time…so I’d fall asleep and wake up over and over again until it was time to get out of bed around 6:45. I went through this for several months, it was getting worse and worse. It was incredibly frustrating every morning to keep trying to get some sleep and not be able to, and also making me pretty tired. I decided to try to change something, and have cut down my caffeine. I was caffeine free for a few years back in 2006 or so, but slowly started drinking it again when I was pregnant with Charlotte. I know it seems weird to start caffeine when pregnant, but my job requires me to do a lot of driving…and my pregnancy was making me so tired that it seemed being able to stay awake on the road was more important than 1-2 cups of coffee a day late in my pregnancy (which I also had when pregnant with Zoe). Anyway, after having her and then returning to work, I started drinking more and more coffee. Until very recently, I was having 4-5 cups a day. One when I first got up in the morning, one in my car on the way to the office, one or two in the morning from the coffee maker at work or from drive through on the road, and one in the late afternoon between 3 and 5 PM (whenever I was near coffee). I discovered a couple years ago that I could not drink coffee after 5 or 6 PM if I wanted to fall asleep, so I have been good about that ever since, but in the meantime my daytime consumption has been pretty high! Anyway, I did not think of coffee as the cause of my sleeping problems, since I was falling asleep easily. Last week, somebody suggested I try cutting back on afternoon coffee, so I have. Last week I moved my afternoon coffee until no later than 2 PM, and this week I’ve moved it up to between noon and 1pm. I also only allow myself one late morning. So that is one coffee when I first wake up, one coffee in the car on the way to work, one coffee at the office (or on the road depending in the day). Then a coffee just after lunchtime and I am done. I know, 4 coffees a day still sounds like a lot! However, life is a process, right? I am hoping to eventually cut out the lunchtime coffee, and only have a couple cups in the morning. In the meantime, I have definitely noticed that I am doing better with sleep. I’m still waking up in the early morning, but I’m falling back asleep more easily, and usually staying asleep for an hour or so until waking again. I am hoping as my body adjusts to less caffeine, and as I continue to decrease my caffeine consumption, I can start sleeping straight through the night again. In the meantime, it is much better than it was even a week ago, when I was seriously at the end of my rope. The price I have had to pay for better sleep is feeling seriously drowsy and headachy in the afternoon…but that is starting to get better, and I know from experience that it will continue to improve. I may end up caffeine free again one day!

3. In other news, I registered for a 15 km in September. Maybe I already blogged about it? I don’t remember. Anyway, I would really like to bump up my running a bit again, so I decided this would be good motivation. A 10K isn’t quite challenging enough to really push me, but I don’t want to overwhelm myself with another half marathon. 15 km is perfect, and children’s mental health is a cause that is near and dear to my heart and I am happy to do her fundraising for! Unfortunately, I have been having some trouble with my right ankle and left foot, so I haven’t been running much. Hopefully I will soon!

I leave you with a picture of me in a maxi dress, because I think it is pretty!

20140624-141142-51102539.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

