Weekend eats!

We went strawberry picking on Saturday at Applewood farm winery. Lots of fun, and I totally recommend the white wine!:

20140707-193236-70356129.jpg

Of course, I had to make a berry crumble. Since I was out of my gluten-free mix, I improvised. I piled some frozen mango, fresh strawberries from our outing, and fresh raspberries from the garden in the bottom of a square baking dish. Then I mixed together two packets of instant oatmeal (maple brown sugar flavour), 3 teaspoons of softened butter, and a handful of coconut flour. When it was well mixed, I sprinkled it on top of the fruit, and then baked at 350° for about half an hour. Delicious! Because I am not sensitive to trace, I was able to use regular old oatmeal packets. For someone with a very sensitive gluten intolerance, I would recommend making sure to get certified gluten-free oats and adding some sweetener, because cross-contamination or trace risk is high. This vegetarian recipe could easily be made vegan if you used dairy free margarine, or a little coconut oil in place of the butter:
20140707-193512-70512781.jpg

A few weeks ago I was at somebody’s house, and they served sliced oven roasted potatoes. They tasted delicious, almost like potato chips. I decided I had to try it myself. So I thinly sliced three baking potatoes, and soaked the slices in hot water for a few minutes while preparing everything else. Then I tossed the slices with a splash of olive oil, lots of kosher salt, and a little pepper. I baked it on a tray at 425° for about 45 minutes, flipping in the middle. Scrumptious!
20140707-194041-70841725.jpg

One thought on “Weekend eats!

Leave a Reply

