The bag I almost bought

Last week I had to waste some time between meetings, so I popped into Vaughan Mills and take a look at the fancy handbags that they carry at the HR2 Holt Renfrew outlet. I saw this Rebecca Minkoff bag for $158, I really liked it but didn’t want to buy it quickly, and had little time to really think about it.
IMG_9033.JPG

After going home and researching the bag, I was quite disappointed that I hadn’t bought it. The bag retails for $295, and it is very difficult to find it, even online, for less than $250. It’s a really nice bag; the black cherry color is lovely and neutral, the chain handle is comfortable and the perfect length, the bag is small but surprisingly roomy and fits all my essentials. I desperately regretted not buying it since that day, but haven’t had a chance to go back out that direction. I have seen it on Amazon in black for $190 which is also a good deal…but I just can’t do it. Cannot spend $200 on a bag! Today I went back to HR2, and there was one left in the black cherry color. I carried it around the store with me for about half an hour, while browsing at other items. I set it down, walked outside, googled it, went back in, got in line with it, got out of line. Eventually, I left without the bag. As much as I love it, feel like I’ve gotten out of the habit of spending money on such things for myself, and cannot go back. I cannot buy a designer bag that is going to cost almost $200 with taxes (even though I know, in the world of nice handbags…it is cheap!!!). I know that I can find bags that I will love for less money, if I want leather I can get a nice bag for $100 if I watch for deals. If I skip the leather, I can get a bag I really like for about $50. More than that, I know that the fact that it was a good deal on a Rebecca Minkoff bag was what made me want it. Not that I didn’t love it…I did…but if it was the exact same bag without the name, I wouldn’t consider it…and I’m really trying to pull myself away from they sort of brand focused spending. So…adios!

*note. if my husband gives the the $200 amazon gift card he’s had for years and never used, I’m buying the black one! But going into more debt or taking money from my limited spending funds for it? I just can’t. Husband…are you paying attention?

Leave a Reply

