A night out and more veggie goodness

Last night we went for dinner and a movie!!!

For dinner, we went to The Woodlot, which was highly recommended for their vegetarian menu. I called a week in advance to make reservations, and was offered 5:15, 6:30, or 10:15. Obviously, the place is in demand! We went with 6:30…since we don’t go to such hot spots often, I feel it’s worth a review:

There was lots of parking close by, and it was easy to get to. The restaurant has a nice homey feel to it, it is warm and lovely, but quite small. I definitely recommend reservations! As for the food, everything we had was delicious. They give a vegetarian and regular menu at the same time. They also have an extensive wine and beer list.

That said, I would probably not recommend it for someone who is both vegetarian and gluten free. The menu is quite small and limited, and taking gluten out of it limited even more! There were actually only two main dishes that I could eat, one pasta made with store-bought gluten-free pasta (that I have no problem with, but the pasta $24 and I suspect that is because their homemade pasta is supposedly excellent!) instead of theirs, and a stuffed celery root. Since stuffed celery root does not appeal to me, I had the pasta. It was quite delicious…but nothing special. Probably a special with their homemade pasta! The pasta that they used was actually excellent, so good that I requested the brand and they took a picture for me! I will be looking for it.

IMG_0035.JPG

Adam had a stuffed Vidahlia onion, which he enjoyed and looked delicious, but they used breadcrumbs in it and said they could not do it without breadcrumbs.

For starters, we had the onion soup (without bread) and harvest salad. Both were excellent, although the soup was a tad salty.

So, if you go there, do not bother dressing up. We were surrounded by people wearing slouchy wool hats, flannel shirts, and heavy wool cardigans. Total hipster hangout!

I was a tad overdressed in my Motorcycle leggings, high Boots and blouse…but who cares?!?

IMG_0036.JPG

After dinner we rushed back up north to see Interstellar. It wasn’t really a movie that interested me, but my husband loves anything about space… So I agreed to see it. It was 2 1/2 hours long, at least half an hour too long. The acting and effects were great. The story…eh!

In other news, I finally bought myself the Oh She Glows cookbook instead of just searching for her recipes online (she has a website with lots of recipes, but most of the recipes in the cookbook are not on her website!). Today made peanut butter cookie dough bites. Absolutely delicious! Since I hate using my food processor, I cheated and bought oat flour and almond meal at Bulk Barn. The oat flour is not certified gluten-free, but because I’m not sensitive to trace, hopefully it will be okay. I have non-certified GF oats regularly and it didn’t seem to bother me.

The bites:

IMG_0034.JPG

The recipe (copied from Prevention):

REP TIME: 15 minutes
CHILL TIME: 10 minutes
SERVINGS: 14 small bites

1½ c (375 mL) gluten-free rolled oats
2 Tbsp (30 mL) coconut oil
2 Tbsp (30 mL) smooth peanut butter, almond butter, or sunflower seed butter
¼ c (60 mL) pure maple syrup or other liquid sweetener
1 tsp (5 mL) pure vanilla extract
½ c (125 mL) almond flour or almond meal
¼ tsp (1 mL) fine-grain sea salt
2 Tbsp (30 mL) mini dark chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate

1. BLEND oats in a high-speed blender until a fine flour forms. Set aside.
2. COMBINE oil, peanut butter, maple syrup, and vanilla in a large bowl, and beat with a hand mixer until smooth. Add almond flour, oat flour, and salt, and beat again until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
3. ROLL dough into small balls (about 1 Tbsp/15 mL of dough each). If chocolate chips fall to the bottom of the bowl, press them back into the dough when rolling. Place the finished bites on a plate lined with parchment paper.
4. FREEZE bites for 5 to 10 minutes, or until firm. Store the bites in the freezer in a freezer bag for quick and easy snacks.

Tips: For a nut-free version, simply swap sunflower seed butter for the peanut butter and more oat flour for the almond flour (add a splash of nondairy milk if the dough is a bit dry). Both versions work just fine. For a soy-free option, use soy-free chocolate chips (such as Enjoy Life brand).

NUTRITION (per bite) 117 cal, 3 g pro, 13 g carb, 2 g fiber, 5 g sugars, 6 g fat, 2.5 g sat fat, 41 mg sodium

Leave a Reply

