In with 2015

2014 was not a good year for me. I thought 2013 had sucked, but 2014 was even worse. It was a year full of challenges at work, at home, and with my extended family. I even had some friend issues that made me feel like I was back in high school!

That said, there have been good parts too. My kids are happy and healthy, and my marriage (after a few rough spots) is stronger than ever. I remain strong and healthy, and even though I am not at my preferred weight anymore (more about that later) I remain fit and strong and have continued to work out and eat well throughout the year. I have pulled back from some unhealthy relationships, and I’m working hard to get closer to people that I think will be better for me. I have a lot of hope for 2015! It probably won’t start out great (some of the challenges of 2014 will definitely be following me into this next year, at least until spring), but I’m hoping that it will catch up.

I do have a few goals for myself!

1. I want to run the sporting life 10K again (could this be my sub 60 year?), and also plan to run the RBC run for the kids 15K. I did all the training last year, but got food poisoning before the race! This year I will do it.

2. I have started tracking on MyFitnessPal again, and I’m trying to lose 5 to 10 pounds. I lost 20 pounds (to 135ish) in 2013, and have gained about 10 of them back. I’m still (barely) in the healthy weight range, but I’m not happy about that weight gain and the way or looks and feels. I know that 135 may not be completely realistic for me to maintain, but if I could get back down to 140 and stay there, I’d be a happy girl indeed! On the bright side, this time 2010, I weighted over 180 pounds, so I have certainly still maintained my big loss of 2010, and I am proud of that!

3. In the last few weeks I have finally started doing something I’ve been aware I should do forever, which is strength training. Of course I get some strength work in yoga and barre but not enough. I know that building more muscle mass will be good for my metabolism, make me appear leaner and fitter (no matter what the scale says), and also make me stronger and healthier! This year, I am determined to incorporate 15 to 20 minutes of dedicated strength work into my home workouts a few times a week. I started today with 20 minutes of work with light handweights on my upper and lower body and core. I am also doing this challenge for January. I tried it last year but dropped out at some point, this year I will get through the 30 days! I do the first few push-ups from my toes, then move to my knees for the remainder.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/523/1677240/files/2015/01/img_03981.png

4. As I mentioned above, I am trying to get closer to the people that I think are a positive influence in my life and my family, and keep my distance from negative relationships. I’m not perfect, and I don’t expect the people in my life to be perfect…but people that bring more negativity and unhappiness and stress to my life than positivity and pleasure? I don’t want them to have a large role in my life anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

