Success 


Remember that time I went to BlueMountain convinced that I was going to zip line, but then I didn’t. I tried over and over but kept chickening out, and came home from our vacation feeling like a great big loser!

Well, yesterday this happened:


That’s right, I ziplined!

Here’s how it happened: A few weeks ago we went to the Treetop Trekking in Stouffeville, we weren’t planning to do the trekking and zip lining, we were planning to do the Treewalk Village, which is kind of like an obstacle based playground. But while we were there Zoë and I looked at the trekking, and based on our experience on the ropes at BlueMountain, we thought it look like a lot of fun. We could see there were some zip-lines, but they looked really short and low, and we decided we could handle them. So we made an appointment to go back yesterday. There is also a 600ft freestanding zip line there, called the monarch, I did not plan to do that. I thought that the zip-lines in the course would be a good little intro for me to prepare for BlueMountain next year (if we go back!)

So we went, we had a wonderful time. We were of course a bit nervous about the zip-lines, but once we did the first one, we felt good about them. I felt so good that is soon as we were done the courses, I went and added on the freestanding zip-line, and then did it while I was still on a high! I didn’t overthink it, I just did it! It is comparable to the ones that I skipped out off in BlueMountain. A bit lower, but a bit longer. Here is a video of the zip-line I did (not me, the zip-line starts at 1:10)

I loved it! I’m so proud of myself, I know that sounds bad, but it is what it is. I overcame my fear that I’ve had for a long time. When we first went to Blue Mountain two summers ago, I remember looking at the zip lines wishing that I was courageous enough to do that. When we went last summer, just a few months ago, I really thought I would do it, but I just couldn’t. Now I have, and I feel on top of the world!

I’m going to add a review of Treetop trekking, and then some other pictures of our day. I wrote this review for a Facebook page, that’s why it’s not very personal:
Went to Stouffeville Treetop climbing yesterday. My husband and six-year-old daughter did the Treewalk Village. I don’t know much about it, but I know they had a good time! He said it would be good for up to around eight or nine, older would be OK, but probably only for an hour or so before getting board. There were loads of picnic tables in there and lots of people were eating as well as playing.

My 12-year-old daughter and I did the Treetop trekking. It was not cheap, $124 for the two of us. We also added on one person for the Monarch freestanding zip line, and that was another 5. You can get gloves $2 dollars a pair, we didn’t and our hands are OK. They were a bit achy last night but they’re fine this morning. If I did it again I would probably bring my weight gloves but it’s definitely not required. If you have sensitive skin her hands, you might want to make sure to bring gloves. My nails were destroyed! Closed shoes are required. I brought a waist-pack to carry my phone so I could take pictures. There are washrooms there that are clean, they do not sell any food or drinks so bring whatever you’ll think you want. Our lips got very dry and we wished we had brought some Chapstick.

You get 3.5 hours to play, the first 1/2 hour is an orientation, where they gave us lots of information about how to make sure we were safe and use our attachments (you are wearing a harness around your hips and butt, and it is attached to two carabiners, and a pulley for the zip lines. You also wear a helmet, when I got my helmet it was a little wet inside, I asked why and they said it was disinfectant), and went through a very low wire walk, and a low zip line. They had us fall off the wire and get back on so that we would feel secure and know that we could get back up if we fell.

We did 4 ropes courses of increasing height and difficulty. The last three ended with a zipline. The courses were fine, some of the obstacles are more difficult than others, but we got through all of them without falling. Falling would not be a big deal though, you’re very well protected! Even though there were a lot of people there (they said it was full), we didn’t have long waits for any of the obstacles or the ziplines. There were staff at each of the zip lines, and everything was close enough together that they could yell at you and help you through one of the obstacles if you were having trouble. They were all very helpful and friendly and encouraging. My daughter and I are both scared of heights, but like to challenge ourselves. We have done low ropes before that definitely made this easier, but I think that anybody at the right age and size would enjoy it and be able to get through some of it. We went through four of the five courses. We were a bit nervous about the zip lines, but we ended up loving them, so much that I did the add on for the big freestanding zip line. My daughter didn’t, but she will next time she says!

The courses all start in the same area, where there are a bunch of picnic tables set up. Nobody was spending their time eating, for that cost who would? The tables were a good spot to leave backpacks, snacks, water bottle. Some people left their purses there, I personally would not and left my handbag in my car. There is a staff person down there, to direct you to the right course in the right order.

  
  
  
  
  

Leave a Reply

