Queso

One of the hardest parts about going dairy free was definitely giving up cheese. I remember this was true seven years ago as well, when I had to give up dairy while breast-feeding Charlotte. There are loads of yummy alternative milks available (cashew is my favourite), and it’s pretty quick and easy to get used to them both for drinking and cooking/baking. But cheese? Cheese!!!

Back then, I didn’t really use any cheese alternatives. I tried them once or twice, but they tasted awful and that was that. Of course I also knew it was for a limited time. 

This time, I intend it to be for life: 

1. Because I don’t like the way dairy animals are treated. 

2. Because it can reduce my risk of  my (probably) cancer returning.  

3. Because I remember how much better my tonsils were back when I was dairy free, even though I eventually fell back into my dairy eating habits, and then going off gluten helped tremendously as well, but being off both is probably best for me! I’ve known that for years, but it took a lump in my breast and some pretty strong documentaries to get me to make the change!

So, if this is a life time change, I better learn some cheese alternatives! Cheese!

It’s definitely been easier this time around, I’m not sure if it’s because there’s better alternatives, or I am more open to the tastes. Since going gluten-free and becoming such a healthier water, I’ve gotten used to things not tasting the same as they used to, and liking them anyway. That’s probably made this easier than it would’ve been. My palate is very open to new tastes for old favorites!

Yesterday, I was absolutely craving nachos. Of course I can have them with guacamole, salsa, or both, but I was craving cheesy nachos.

So I made a vegetarian queso sauce! 

I put half a cup of cashews into a cup, and filled the cup with hot water. I let it sit for about 15 minutes, and then blended the cup with a splash of lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of nutritional yeast, a tablespoon of mild salsa, a tablespoon of daiya shredded cheddar (which is surprisingly not awful), a dash of salt, and some Tumeric to make it more yellow. 

 

It was delicious! Definitely better hot than cold, which is fine with me cause I like my nachos hot! I have lots left over, I think I’m going to try to make a baked mac & cheese today and cross my fingers that the kids will eat it too! I’m certainly not forcing them to follow my dietary habits, but I would like to decrease their dairy and increase the nutritional value of their food somewhat. It seems wrong to make all these changes to my diet and not take steps towards changing theirs to the better as well.

One thought on “Queso

  1. Those nachos sound tasty. Maybe by reading I’ll become inspired to take up the vegetarian mantle. I know it in my head to be better, convincing my heart to make the leap is a different story. Small changes would be a start.

Leave a Reply

