Vegan shepherds pie, or something like it

I have an admission to make: I have never tried shepherd’s pie. Vegan, vegetarian, or otherwise. Until a week ago, I barely knew what it was. Lately, I have seen piles of it on bulletin boards and Facebook. So when I was invited to a potluck for last night, I decided to try it.

I kept things very simple! I reheated some chili that I had in the freezer, and mixed in some Gardien Beefless Ground. Topped it with mashed potatoes, using earths balance and almond milk. Sprinkled a little smoked paprika on the top before baking.

I haven’t a clue if it tasted like a regular shepherds pie, but I do think it tasted pretty damn delicious! Everybody that tried it also liked it, or they were lying, but I’ll take that!

  

The other thing I made was a spicy pasta salad. I cooked up some gluten-free rotini, and threw in some frozen corn. For the dressing I used Chipotle Veganese, lemon juice, maple syrup and garlic. I also tossed in a few tablespoons of mango salsa. Had quite a tangy kick, but tasted delicious! 

  

Leave a Reply

