Seriously incredible butternut squash soup

I have been making butternut squash soup for years, but I have to admit I’m usually not particularly happy with it. No matter what it I do, it’s always a bit blah!

Not today! Today’s soup came out perfectly!

ingredients:
One package diced butternut squash (I would say it was about one small squash)
1 peeled and diced apple
1 tablespoon olive oil
5 cups vegetable broth
1 large blob of ginger, garlic, chili (if you don’t have this, I would use a tablespoon of garlic (1 minced clove), half teaspoon of ginger, and a squirt of hot sauce.)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon sugar
One handful unsalted cashews

directioms
1. boil a large pot, drop in the butternut squash, and lightly sauté (I don’t know if I really sautéed it or stirfried it or what, but I rolled it around the pan until they were hot)
2. add apples, broth, and ginger mix
3. Bring to a boil, then a lower and simmer covered until squash and apples are easily mashable, about 20 minutes.
4. toss in the blender with all other ingredients.
5. enjoy!

(you could probably skip the cashews, they just make it a bit creamier.)

  

Leave a Reply

