Mac & cheese, vegan style

 I’ve tried lots of vegan mac & cheese recipes over the last few months, most of them I haven’t been thrilled with. So I decided to come up with my own. I made a simple vegan roux:
1. heat up 1 tablespoon olive oil
2. whisk a tablespoon of gluten-free multi purpose flour in the oil
3. toss in a spoonful of minced garlic
4. throw in about three quarters of a cup of unsweetened nondairy milk
5. A healthy scoop of nutritional yeast, I think I used about a quarter cup
6. 1/4 cup of shredded nondairy cheddar goes into the mix
7. heat and stir gently until creamy

Then I tossed it with some gluten-free noodles and went to town. Delicious!

  

Leave a Reply

