RadiateTHIS

I know I haven’t posted in a while, what can I say life has been busy!

I have some updates.
1. I’ve had four radiation sessions so far. It’s not bad. It’s kind of like getting an x-ray, the hospital is lovely and the people in the radiation department are lovely too. So far I am not having any side effects which is great! That said, I was told I probably wouldn’t for at least 10 days to two weeks, so it certainly doesn’t mean I won’t. I’m just hoping it’s not too bad. What I’m really struggling with right now is that I feel very trapped indoors in beautiful weather. I’m not supposed to get sun exposure on the skin that is getting radiated, which goes right up to my collarbone front and upper back. I’m also not supposed to use sunscreen on my extra sensitive skin. The obvious answer to that would be to wear clothing that goes high on my neck and covers that skin, but I don’t have that kind of clothing. I find a lower neck more flattering and comfortable, and I am also one of those people that likes to be as undressed as possible when it’s hot out. This past weekend was particularly hot, and I could not bear the thought of being outside in clothing that covered me so much, so instead I stayed indoors until the sun was low. I will likely have to protect my skin in this way until early July, longer if my skin is badly damaged. It makes me very sad to have to stay indoors when I love being outside and active and I’m feeling healthy enough and energetic enough to do so. 


2. In good news, we have finally booked our summer vacation! After a couple years of BlueMountain and many years in Ontario, we’ve decided to venture a bit further. We are going to Mont Tremblant in the Laurentian’s in Quebec! I’m very excited about the trip, except the drive (seven hours). I will be listening to an audiobook and ignoring everybody for those seven hours! It was the only way I would agree to it. If anybody has been and have any tips for where to eat, what activities to do, etc. make sure to pass them along! We are going late August, so hopefully my skin will be all good and healed by then!! 

Leave a Reply

