books

One thing I hated about chemo was that I could not read. Even though I had time to read, for some reason I could not focus on books during chemo. Now, I can, so I have been reading voraciously to make up for it, both audio books and on my iPad. Here are some little reviews of some recent favourites:

 

1.The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin

This was the story of a young boy and his single mother. The boy seems to have some sort of serious mental health issues. Janie loves him desperately, but is also at the end of her rope trying to make ends meet and meet her son’s needs and deal with all his “issues”. The book takes a rather mysterious and supernatural turn that I enjoyed. The book actually is interspersed with chapters from a book of true stories, that I also found fascinating. I wont share the nature of these true stories however, since it would be a bit of a spoiler.

 

2.You by Caroline Kepnes

A creepy first person book about a psycho stalker Joe Goldberg and his victim Guenevere Beck. Scary, creepy, tense and even funny. Like few things I have read before, and utterly addictive. I read the sequel Hidden Bodies right after…it was okay, but I would recommend taking some time between the two books and having a little break from Joe.

 

3.Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

I LOVED Monsters of Templeton so I was certainly excited to read another book by Ms. Groff. Fates and Furies is a long and detailed book of a decades long marriage between a successful playwriter named Lotto (Lancelot) and his supportive wife Mathilde, a couple that meet in college. The book is told, from birth until they are in their 40s, first from Lotto’s point of view, and then from Mathilde’s. Similarly to Gone Girl I enjoyed reading different views of a marriage,  and how the same circumstances and same relationship can be sen very differently by the two partners. I also enjoyed the way that no detail in the book was unimportant…charecters came back again and again, and little incidents that seemed unimportant eventually showed up again as relevant.  Most of the characters in the book were unlikable, and there was a definite lack of realism in many of their life’s occurances…but the book was utterly readable and compelling.

 

4.The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

 I LOVE LOVE LOVE this woman’s books. All of them have such interesting stories and phenomena, but unlike some such books…she explains them and how they work so well, they don’t leave me with a headache. The Sudden Appearance of Hope is about Hope Arden, an utterly  (and literally) forgettable young woman. As a young teen, people just started to forget her. “Out of sight out of mind” is true for her, always. What is a girl who cannot be remembered to do? Steal. Among other things (short affairs, seek companionship however she can get it, bring down international conglomerates). The book was long and complicated…mystery, suspence, a bit of chick-lit, a touch of romance…and so very good.

 

 

Leave a Reply

