Getting better

I haven’t posted much in the last few weeks. Mostly because, for a little while, I had nothing good to say.

After I finished radiation my burns got worse for about a week. They were horrible and I was in a lot of pain with broken skin, blistering and oozing. It looked so bad it was seriously hard to believe that it would ever get better, but after about 11 radiation free days it started clearing up, and by last weekend it was almost normal again. It’s amazing how quickly skin that was so damaged looked normal again, but I’m pleased. 

In addition to suffering from the burns, I was very disappointed to learn I did not get a position at work I really really wanted. Now that I’ve had some time to process I realize it wasn’t right for me, not now anyway, and it was a given that I wouldn’t get it but at the time I applied and waited to hear and when I first found out it felt right…so not getting it hit me hard. Especially in the middle of dealing with the burns. Although the two things were not related, it still felt like getting kicked while I was down. Now I’m fine though, and happy to have a current position that I really like-both the work I do and the department I’m in-so I’m focussing on that. 

Anyways, I had a couple rough weeks both physically and emotionally…but I’m back on track now and looking forward to the rest of the summer! 

We visited Zoë at camp yesterday and spent a lovely evening in Haliburton, and are looking forward to visiting a friend’s cottage on the way home. 

Pics: 



One thought on “Getting better

Leave a Reply

