Eggplant 

Baingan Bharta, eggplant curry, is one of my very favourite Indian dishes. So when I was trying to figure out what to do with half of a huge eggplant I had left over I decided to try making it myself. I winged it! 

Half eggplant, diced

1 chopped shallot 

Handful sliced mushrooms 

1 sliced tomato

1 can lite coconut milk 

Teaspoon of each: minced ginger, minced garlic, garlic powered, smoked paprika

Splash of hot sauce

Handful of cashews

Mix all the ingredients except cashews and add enough water to make sure they are well covered. Bring to a boil and then lower to  summer and leave until eggplant is are soft and much of the liquid has evaporated. Mash with a fork or potato masher, and mix in the cashews.

I decided to mix some leftover rice right into it, instead of serving it with the rice on the side, since it heated up the rice!

Leave a Reply

