Updates

Just a few updates! 

1. I’m feeling OK for the most part. I find that my stamina and energy are two steps forward one step back, I have not ran since the run for the cure! Every day I come home and it’s all I can do to keep my eyes open. I do try to hit my 10,000 steps a day and usually do, but beyond that I’ve gotten pretty lazy about working out. I think part of it is the change in seasons though, I never feel well this time of year! I’m trying to be gentle with myself and remember that it hasn’t even been a year since I’ve been diagnosed, but I am so eager to be back to my normal self and it bothers me that I’m not. I feel lazy even though I know I shouldn’t! 

2. I did an interview for today’s parent, which led to a video that was shared quite a few times on Facebook. There were a few things about the video that were quite embarrassing, like how many times I said the words “bat mitzvah”, but I also think I had some important things to share about parenting with cancer, and in particular about talking to kids about cancer. Here is a link to the article with the video if anyone is curious!

3 . That video actually lead to me being asked to be interviewed on Cityline, along with a super inspiring metastatic breast cancer survivor, and somebody from Rethink breast cancer, an amazing organization for young women. It was really exciting to be on the show, and I got my makeup done! It is a tape the show and will be on Wednesday morning, October 26. If I get a link to a video, I will most certainly share it. 


4. In one month it will be both my 43rd birthday, and my 15th wedding anniversary. To celebrate this Adam and I have decided we are going away…alone. It’s hard to believe we have never done so since having kids, but it’s true, not even for a night or a weekend in the last 13 years. Really, we haven’t been away alone since our honeymoon! So we have booked five nights at an all-inclusive in Cuba! I’m feeling a lot of guilt for going away without my kids, but also excitement because I think my husband and I really do need this time together to nurture our marriage and celebrate the 15 year milestone (and getting through cancer). 

5. Last Friday night I went to an amazing event called Boobyball, it is a fundraising event for the aforementioned rethink organization. As a survivor I was able to get a complementary VIP ticket, it was a huge party at a downtown venue. Even though it was amazing that so much great fundraising was done, it was kind of weird to be an event like this surrounded by the sort of young rich beautiful people that go to such events, and I often found myself wishing I was one of them instead of myself. The theme was “paradise city, welcome to the jungle”, so I bought a dress from French Connection online. It fit well and looked cute, but I probably should not have worn the dress, I did not feel nearly as elegant as I would’ve liked to. Oh well. In spite of my discomfort with the dress and the crowd, I did have a good time and I was surrounded by survivors that had also attended, all of them lovely inspiring strong women that I feel proud to know. 


One thought on “Updates

Leave a Reply

