Vegan goodies for guests 

I love sharing delicious vegan food here because I hate that people think that we are suffering! I promise we are not, there is plenty of delicious food that does not come with the price of an animal being tortured or killed. I am no martyr though, I enjoy everything I eat!

Saturday night we had friends for dinner.  I served lasagna, corn salad, roasted vegetables, peanut stew with rice and quinoa, and latkes! 


Everybody ate happily, there were very few leftovers.

Not going to share all the recipes, I’m pretty sure I’ve already shared lasagna (it is pretty well them same as slow cooker, but baked) and peanut stew, and of course everybody knows how to roast vegetables. 

The corn was tossed in oiled cast-iron skillet until slightly charred, and then cooled and mixed with a dressing of maple syrup and apple cider vinegar, and a handful of dried cranberries. 

I will share the latke recipe though, because they are by far the best vegan latkes I have made! Everybody said that you could not tell that they were vegan or gluten-free, and I believe them because those suckers were gone and gone fast!

In the past I’ve tried using Chia seeds, applesauce, and powdered egg replacement in the place of eggs, none of it has worked very well;  particularly at holding the latkes together. 

This time I tried using cooked oatmeal, loosely following a recipe I found on the Internet. I was surprised at how well it held them together, and you couldn’t taste the oatmeal at all once they were cooked! I’m excited to make them again tomorrow to bring to my mother’s!

Ingredients

¾ cup quick-cooking oats 

6 medium-large potatoes, grated

1 medium onion, grated

½ cup gluten free flour 

Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

vegetable oil for frying
Instructions

1. combine the oats or quinoa with 1½ cups very hot water. Stir and set aside while preparing the other ingredients.

2. Combine the grated potato, and onion, and flour in a mixing bowl. Stir in the oatmeal, then season with salt and pepper.

To fry: Heat just enough oil to coat the bottom of a large, nonstick skillet or griddle. Drop enough potato batter to form 2½- to 3-inch pancakes. Fry on both sides over medium-high heat until golden brown and crisp. 

Adapted from this recipe, from vegkitchen.com

Leave a Reply

