Surgically altered

I had my surgery last Tuesday (February 7th), it was called a laproscopic bilateral salpingo oopherectomy. Basically they made a hole in my belly button and put a camera in it, made two holes on the sides of my lower abdomen and used them to insert tools to remove and chop up my ovaries and Fallopian tubes, and then put a little baggie through a hole in my bikini line, dropped the ovaries and tubes into the little baggie, and pulled it back out. Obviously all this was done when I was asleep!

In most ways it was very similar to my last surgery. By the time I went to the operating room I was tired and hungry; I wasn’t scared though because I’ve done it before, I was actually eager to get that IV and go to sleep, because I knew when I woke up it would be over. Three hours after I went in, I woke up and it was over. I was home by dinner, tired but not in pain. 

The next few days were very difficult. Unlike my breast surgery, this surgery did come with a fair amount of pain. The incisions were painful, particularly the one in my belly button because every movement involves the belly button! The other thing that was painful was the gas and swelling in my stomach, evidently they pumped it with gas to better see my organs and chop them off. Because everyone kept telling me how easy and minor laparoscopic surgery is, and because my last surgery was not painful, I really didn’t expect to have pain. I wouldn’t say the pain was horrible, but I was definitely very uncomfortable for a couple days, and moderately uncomfortable for a couple more days. Sunday was the first day that I didn’t really feel much abdominal discomfort, and today was the first day that I had enough energy to do anything more than walk around the neighbourhood (which I have been forcing myself to do for the last couple days, because I know it’s good for me to move around). 

Weirdly, the only area I still have much pain is a cut above my belly button incision, that was not caused by the surgery at all but by a dressing that was badly applied and dug into my skin, causing something similar to a bad paper-cut! The rest of my abdomen still hurts if I move the wrong way, but it’s much better than it was. 

Tomorrow will be one week since the surgery, and I suspect that I will have a lot more energy then. That’s what happened after my last surgery, and so far the anesthesia fog has been the exact same…and I assume I’ve turned a corner. 

As for menopause symptoms, I’ve been told that they won’t be much different than when I was taking the shots that put me in menopause, and I hope that’s true. So far I haven’t noticed much difference! 

The bad thing about me being home and bored is… shopping! I bought two pairs of short boots (One from Amazon the other in person at Sears today, both Fergalicious brand) and two handbags from Aldo online: 

https://i2.wp.com/media.aldoshoes.com/product/Miroissi/88/MIROISSI_88_FR.JPG

Leave a Reply

