Getting our bodies back

I just posted this in a group I’m in, and wanted to share it here, because I often see women posting about wanting to “get their bodies back” after having children. 

*I think it’s sad that we as women put so much pressure on ourselves to have the bodies we had before we had children. 

Look at your life now, is any of it the same as it was before you had children? I doubt it. 

Before you had children your body had not carried a child. Besides the physical changes that come from pregnancy and childbirth, you were younger, you had more free time, you had more sleep, you had less responsibilities. 

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be fit and healthy and have an attractive shape and size…but women need to stop looking back at their bodies before they had children and thinking that that’s the ideal.*

I will add that those of you that have known me for a long time know that I am actually thinner and fitter now than I was before I had children, so what I wrote and isn’t really in defence of myself, it’s what I think when I read other women beating themselves up for not looking the way they did before they had children. In time, some of us may get our bodies back and some of us may not, but there’s no reason for any of us to beat ourselves up for it. 

Leave a Reply

