Aritzia review and wish list 

Aritzia is a store that I did not enter for many years, for three reasons: 

1. Once when I went into the store, a sales associate immediately approached me and informed me they didn’t have anything in my size (around a 14 at the time). I was actually looking for a gift but I walked out and did not consider going back for years

2. I actually think a lot of the clothing is ugly. Boring colors, boxy unflattering shapes. Looking in the window does not inspire me to enter. 

3. It is out of my price range for the most part. 

However, recently my daughter informed me that leggings from TNA (an Aritzia house brand) were something she really really wanted. So I waited until Boxing Day sales, and I bought her a pair of the coveted leggings, then 3 more! The truth is the regular price is $22 so I didn’t really have to wait for them to go on sale, they are more expensive than her usual ($10-12 from Urban Planet or Ardene) leggings but not exorbitantly so. However I have a rule that we don’t buy anything that’s not on sale, unless it’s for a special occasion or necessity, and so I stuck to it. When I bought her the leggings, I decided to buy myself a pair too…because I do love leggings and they have such a great reputation. 

Since then, I have to admit that the TNA Equator leggings are amazing leggings! They are very comfortable, very flattering, do not lose their shape. I love that they have a nice wide waistband that doesn’t dig in or make lumps. The regular price of $22 for plain ones and $32 for patterned ones is not ridiculous, and they do go on (modest) sale regularly. I now have several pairs, and wear them quite often. (I do still love Old Navy compression leggings as well. At regular price they are actually more expensive for than the TNA but go on deep discount often, they have all the benefits of the TNA and are also a bit thicker and warmer, which makes me sometimes prefer them and sometimes prefer the lighter weight TNA ones). 

I have also purchased a TNA light winter jacket  (on sale), and have one of the scarves,  again purchased during a big sale.

So I guess I could say I’m a bit of a convert, since I do really enjoy everything I’ve bought from Aritzia. Also, obviously that rude sales associate is long gone, and I have never found any of the staff in the stores to be anything but kind and helpful! 

That said, in spite of my love for the few pieces I have, I still find most of the clothing boring and shapeless. But I was looking through the new arrivals online, and found a few things that deserves to be on my wish list. Likely I will never buy any of them unless it is at an end of season sale to save for next spring!

Leave a Reply

