Vegan Tteokboki

One of my very favourite Korean foods is tteokbokki. I don’t eat it anymore though because I know there is usually fish sauce in the sauce, and there are also chunks of fish in the mixture. But at its base it is a Korean style barbeque sauce with rice cakes (not the crunchy cracker type, they are like very thick rice noodles) stirfried in. 

I decided today when I was at the Asian supermarket and saw the rice cakes (tteok) to try it. I made a Korean style barbeque sauce last week that I put on Cauliflower that I thought would work perfect. 

Here’s what I did:

1. Rinse off the rice cakes, and then cover them with water and set them to boil. Once the water reached a boiled I turned the element off so they wouldn’t overcook, because they tend to get mushy when they do. 

3. In a pan I dumped one cup of water, a quarter cup of kimchi, a large squirt of red pepper sauce, about a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil, a teaspoon of sugar, and a big blob of ketchup. I set it to boil and then lowered to simmer. (this is an excellent sauce for roasted cauliflower, without the water since you don’t have to let it simmer). 

4. Once the sauce was simmering I drained and dropped in rice cakes, and left it all simmering. I mixed often until the sauce had reduced. 

5. That’s it! It was a last-minute plan if I had done more preparation I probably would’ve chopped up a bunch of vegetables (zucchini and peppers) to put in. 


My kids did not like the rice cakes, but they did enjoy the sauce over rice!

Leave a Reply

