Shark FlexStyle – a big disappointment

After my success with the Airwrap Dupe, I decided to try something else…mostly because the cheap aftermarket wand I was using had broken. I’ve heard a lot about about the Shark FlexStyle, which is Shark’s alternative to the Dyson air wrap. When I saw that I had enough AirMiles points to get it, it was a no-brainer. It functions as a blow dryer and comes with attachments for curling, a large oval brush attachment, and a paddle brush attachment.

Unfortunately, I’m quite disappointed.

The blow dryer itself is fine, comfortable to the Dyson Supersonic I already have.

The oval brush is fine, but no better than my Revlon all in one which is a quarter the price and our most used styler.

What I really wanted it for was the curling wand, as my preferred hairstyle now is blowout style straight-ish with bouncy curls at the bottom. Like this:

My preferred hairstyle nowadays

Although it works easily enough…the curls do not hold at all and the shape gets weird. I have tried everything (using it on damp hair, using it on dry hair, putting styling product in my hair before using it, adding hairspray afterwards, switching the curl directions) and they consistently fall out! My hair does keep a little bit of body, which I enjoy, but I am much happier with the styling from the Dyson supersonic plus the cheap aftermarket attachment!

No idea why my hair looks so oily in the midday pic!

If you are looking for an all in one blow dryer, and oval brush the Flexstyle does the job, although in my opinion, it’s not worth the money (the Revlon all in one does that perfectly for me!). If you are looking for something to curl, I do not recommend it.

Also, although they do make a diffuser attachment, it has to be purchased separately. I haven’t tried it yet because I already have a diffuser with my Supersonic that works well when that is the style I’m going for.

I don’t plan to return it, because it is a good blow dryer, and a good oval brush blow dryer…both of which we use a lot. I’ve already had my Supersonic for over 2 years and I’ve noticed it’s starting to overheat more often (and will not be replacing it, I only bought this one, because I had enough Shoppers points!), and the Revlon all-in-one does not last forever, eventually the bristles start to bend. So I’m sure we will get a lot of use out of it, but it is not the Airwrap alternative I was dreaming of!

Leave a comment